Using the Force for mental/emotional healing?

• Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
15 years 5 months ago #19937 by
My musings. Comments and advice are always welcome!

The force can heal, this I understand, but I think what I'm struggling with is trying to understand the execution of that healing. Specifically when it comes to healing wounds that are not physical, and those tied to memories or emotions. My first thought was that it would be an act of mercy to eliminate those memories, and this also seems like it would be the simplest solution. But then I wondered if erasing a painful memory really constitutes healing. To me, healing implies the restoration of wellness and the restoration of what was wounded. So only removing a memory could be compared to amputating a broken leg (maybe the comparison is a stretch, but I have limited medical knowledge).

The question still remains, how do you heal an emotional pain? Also, how do you know if it is healed? With a physical wound you can at least examine it, but with the mental everything can be going alright until all of a sudden something triggers the pain. I'm not sure if pain is the correct word to be using since I'm not addressing only hurts, but also fears, although fears can cause pain...

Please Log in to join the conversation.

• Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
15 years 5 months ago #19939 by
Its rough, the old adage \"time heals all wounds\" does work but its a conscious decision to move on the helps the most. Trust in the Force, it knows what its doing.

• Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
15 years 5 months ago #19940 by
I'd like to suggest (if you haven't already) going over to our sister site, Temple of the Jedi Force, and checking out the \"Reiki Tutorial\" thread. Reiki is all about using Ki (another name for the Force) for both mental and physical healing. The mantra used in Reiki meditation I find to be very helpful:
Just for today, I will let go of anger.
Just for today, I will let go of worry.