Common ground in epicureanism and stoicism?

• Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
10 years 7 months ago #116713 by
I'm not sure that this topic will be of interest to many of you guys, but I figured I'd post it anyway because I am interested in seeing what other people have to say about this: there was a dichotomy between Epicureanism and Stoicism in the ancient world, and in The Book by Alan Watts, it is suggested that dichotomies produce a "third" way of understanding which isn't a blend of both, but understanding that both can be valid at the same time. I wonder how we would apply that to Epicureanism and Stoicism? I've put a brief summary of these philosophies below, which of course isn't comprehensive and even the ancient practitioners disagreed on exactly how each of the philosophies should be practiced. I'm not an expert in either of these!

Stoicism -- believes that suffering is a choice because we put "good" or "bad" on certain circumstances, thus, it is necessary to avoid becoming overly attached to things which are not entirely under our control (money, popularity, appearance, etc) and instead place value in those things which are firmly under our control (our beliefs and acting in ways which honor our beliefs.) Stoics practice "negative visualization" to imagine losing everything, which then makes them appreciate what they do have more, instead of taking it for granted. And conversely, be prepared to lose it should the situation arise. Justice and morality is black and white, as the highest virtue is in living a just and moral life. Later stoics like Marcus Aurelius (who did not self identify as a stoic, but is widely cited as such) would have said that virtue lay in cooperating with others for mutual benefit, although how "mutual benefit" is defined obviously varies.