\"An it harm none, do what ye will.\"

• Jon
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • User
    Inactive
  • May the Dark Side of the Force serve you well!
More
14 years 8 months ago #24010 by Jon
Although I consider all my decisions in life as crucial points of change for a new future, the one major decision which spontaneously came to mind was that of my decision for laicisation from being a deacon. On the surface it may seem to be a clear cut issue, what more did I do than just decide to turn my back on religious life and embrace that of a secular one. Wrong. It is not as simple as that! In reality my decision was very much more manifold: I said no to what I was experiencing to be a suffocating religious system; I said yes to working for a living, standing on my own two feet and paying taxes; I broke free from the pressures of public opinion, namely the expectations of friends, my parents and the Order for me to be ordained at any cost; I deepened a strongly frowned upon and spiritual relationship with a woman; I rediscovered my right to religious freedom; I made a break for authenticity between what I do, feel, think and believe.

This earth quake decision flowered from a dung heap of experiences which left me with no choice but to choose for a better future. I describe these as my experiences because there are always two sides to a story, and this is mine.