A Curious Outsider with Questions

• Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
8 years 7 months ago #203212 by
Hello all Jedi,

I am a university student taking a course called Religious Issues in Death and Dying and my friend, a hard-core Star Wars fan, told me about this church and I immediately became curious.

I have several questions for all the members of the Temple of the Jedi Order:
You guys can answers the questions from a personal or the church's point of view.
Feel free to answer all questions or focus on one and elaborate. :)

1. How does your church (and the Jedi) define religion?

2. How does your church define death?

3. Does The Temple of the Jedi Order believe in an afterlife? If so, what does the afterlife look like for a Jedi?

4. What is the church's stance on resurrection?

5. How does your church honor the dead? What kind of traditions exist to honor the dead? What kind of funerals do you hold for them?

6. Can the members of your church (the Jedi) communicate with the dead? (for example, using the force?)

7. Is there a honorable form death in your church? (for example, martyrdom, sacrifice, war?)

8. How does your church cope with sufferings in the earthly world?

9. What are the guidelines for suicides, euthanasia, and abortions? Who/what determines the morality of those actions? What happens to those who die by: suicide, euthanasia, and abortion?

10. Is there a predicted end to the earthly world? (a Jedi version of the Christian eschatology?)

11. What role does the force play in all this?

Thanks so much for all your time,
May the force be with you.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
8 years 7 months ago #203215 by Edan
Have you read our doctrine page and our home page? I think you would find some of your answers there.
I cannot answer them now, but I think many questions will have an answer of 'it depends on the individual' as the church doesn't really have its own stance on certain individual topics like abortion.