Self Care for the days you just can't even

More
6 years 3 months ago #313387 by Kit
I've been thinking about this this morning, I have a lot of hard-earned experience with ...well, Mental Health Down Days I guess. Those days where even eating seems like a chore. I wanted to share a few tips I learned to make sure some necessities are taken care of. I'd love to hear your tips too!

1. I keep a store of food around for when I just can't cook. Microwavable pizzas for when I have the energy to do that. But I have canned chili and spaghetti that are good right out of the can. I have days where nothing sounds good and/or I don't have the energy to make anything. I have to force myself to eat and even that takes energy. So something I can pop open and eat right from the can can be a godsend.

2. Disposable utensils/bowls/plates/cups. No dishes! What sucks is I'm generating more waste but when it's the environment vs eating, I gotta go with eating here.

3. Trashcans stationed everywhere! Clutter (especially trash) drives my mental health down through the floor right quick. And then I really don't have the energy to clean...so I have trash cans in tossing distance to the places I spend the most time. So when I'm ready to throw something away, it's as easy as tossing it over. Otherwise I found it'll just pile up wherever I am because I told myself I'd take care of it when I got up and either forgot about it, or just didn't have the energy.
The following user(s) said Thank You: steamboat28, Avalon, Kobos,

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
6 years 3 months ago #313399 by Kobos
Kit,

This is awesome. I have to take these into account I have been through quite a few of those days as of late and really these are great ideas. I have to say the trash can thing is one I follow. Just by cleaning my house and bedroom I was surprised by how much better I felt, though it was temporary it was still relief. I just wanted to say thank you for this.