A biased opinion...what's yours?

• Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
4 years 1 month ago #349604 by
Hello everyone! I'm very new here (just found out about the Temple yesterday, in fact.) I haven't even had time to put anything in the "Introduce Yourself" section, but that's my next order of business.

In the discovery of the actual religion of Jediism, which I have been following myself for a long time, I shared this idea with several friends. One of whom says the Jedi philosophy mirrors much of his own life. So I encouraged him to do some research and join the Temple if/when he felt the time was right. Of course, he gave me the usual skeptic "it's all just fanboys and fandom." He based this mostly on the idea of the lightsaber and several YouTube videos he had seen of people claiming they were real-life Jedi and doing mock battles with lightsabers and the Force, which I told him has very little to do with the actual Jedi philosophy. (I could be wrong, as I'm no expert...yet.) I began researching more, and found it not only to be an actual philosophy, but an actual U.S.-recognized religion.

He gave me the below Tumblr link and told me that was the extent of his research on Jedi and the symbolism of the lightsaber so far, other than the YouTube videos mentioned above. I encouraged him to look farther and deeper for more meaning, and not just someone's opinion on a Tumblr site. After reading the article, I decided I wanted to know what actual Jedi thought of what this one person had to say. So if you get a chance, feel free to read the article and let me know what you think of this one person's opinion.

https://adventures-in-poor-planning.tumblr.com/post/162180042034/jedi-and-the-symbolism-of-the-sword

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
4 years 1 month ago - 4 years 1 month ago #349607 by Adder