A well-rounded human

More
4 years 5 months ago #344549 by Skryym
A well-rounded human was created by Skryym
Good afternoon. It's been a long time.

I often think of what kind of person I want to be. This feeling is amplified whenever I enter a new stage of life. Society may tell men to act one way or women to act another. We get pushed or prodded into certain career fields, certain personalities, and certain labels that tell us who we are. But consider these quotations.

“The ideal man is a philosopher, artist, and warrior.” – Benvenuto Cellini1

“The nation that will insist on drawing a broad line of demarcation between the fighting man and the thinking man is liable to find its fighting done by fools and its thinking done by cowards.” – William Francis Butler2

What does this mean in your life? In what ways are you (we) warriors, artists, and scholars?

My connection to art is strong enough. Someday I would like to write for a living. For now I write as a hobby. I also enjoy music. When I could not keep playing the piano, I learned the mandolin. When that broke, I learned the harmonica, ocarina, and finally the accordion. But does this make me a hobbyist or an artist? Where do I draw the line between creating value for myself and creating value for the world?

I've spent a combined 15 years of my life working and studying in agriculture or natural resources. If I am ever to have an intellectual impact on a community, it will be within these bounds.

And what of a warrior? I have worked hard to stay in shape - but for what? Ego? I don't believe Cellini should be taken literally - it would be outlandish to claim that every man, women, and child should join the armed forces. Then what kind of warrior am I? What kind of warrior are you?

Sources

Warning: Spoiler!

There is no bad weather, only bad attitudes and bad attire. - Gandalf the Grey
TM: Loudzoo
Skryym's Novice Journal | Meditation Journal | Apprentice Journal | Skryym's 2022 IP Journal |
B.Div Journal