Shamanism In Brief

More
6 years 9 months ago #290660 by Kit
Shamanism In Brief was created by Kit
I wrote this as a lesson for my apprentice but others have also found it useful so I thought I'd offer it to all. I've been practicing shamanism for four years. This is intended as a short-and-sweet key-points (but by no means all-encompassing) overview of shamanism. This is for the curious or to open dialog for questions. So if you have any, I'd be pleased to answer them to the best of my abilities.

Shamanism in Brief
One Who Sees in the Dark

The term shamanism has been used to label many old anima traditions across the world. As such, there are many different ways to practice. Written here is my understanding and practices which may differ from other cultures. In short, shamanism is the communion with the spirits for benefit of yourself, your community, and the world.

Shamanic Journeys:
The practitioner will go into a trance, often with the aid of darkness, drums, rattles, incense, and in some cultures, careful use of sacred drugs. Their spirit will leave their body and travel to one of the spirit worlds of their choice, or where they are drawn to.

The Three Spirit Worlds
Shamanism recognizes three spirit worlds. The Upper World, where deities and human spirits reside. The Middle World which is an overlay of our own where you can speak to the spirits of plants, rocks, or any other physical thing. You can also find the spirits who work the changing of the seasons, or otherwise involved in our world. It’s also said this is where a practitioner can find lost objects, water, or good hunting (I haven’t tested this). In Lower World (or Under World) you’ll encounter animal spirits. These are the words where these particular kinds of spirits reside, but they can travel between them.

Animal Spirits