Should jedi train in combat?

• Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
7 years 11 months ago #239931 by
Should a jedi train in the use of saber fighting and sword fighting? Is there any threats against the jedi order in which we must defend? Im new to being a jedi :)

Please Log in to join the conversation.

• Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
7 years 11 months ago #239934 by
Replied by on topic Should jedi train in combat?
The student said to his master, "You teach me fighting, but talk about peace. How do you reconcile the two?"

The warrior replied, "It is better to be a warrior in a garden than to be a gardener in a war."

As a martial artist, I don't believe that the martial aspect is what is important to learn from an art. I believe there are many other lessons to learn from martial arts outside of the physical aspect, and that is what is important to take away from martial arts. The ability to fight is a secondary benefit to training, but I do not believe it should be a focus.

I think there are always threats to any belief system, and generally fighting is not the solution, but being able to defend others from danger, being able to recognize a real threat (which allows you to recognize when to act and when not to act), and discipline are great things that can be earned from learning any martial arts.

I believe it is probably quite rare that someone would require the physical aspect of sabre training as a Jedi in their daily lives, but it doesn't mean that it couldn't be useful in some ways, though I will allow others who've been a part of the order longer than I to answer.

May the Force be with you, always.

More
7 years 11 months ago - 7 years 11 months ago #239938 by Adder
Replied by Adder on topic Should jedi train in combat?