Few questions

• Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
8 years 4 months ago #214226 by
Few questions was created by
Hey,

I'm new to this side and have only recently heard of Jediism. I'm currently a University student studying politics, sociology and English. It would be a great help of someone could help me with two questions:

Do the doctrines of Jediism stand in conflict with pacifism? The Jedi of the Star Wars movies tend to be a bit too violent for my taste.

And this might be a strange question, as I've not even filled out an application, but: Is there a way to leave the church? I've seen nothing about this in the FAQs and I like to get as much information as I can before I commit to anything.

Cheerio,

Parveth

Please Log in to join the conversation.

• Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
8 years 4 months ago #214228 by
Replied by on topic Few questions
Welcome around.

I'm new as a member here, but I've studied several things, and I'm happy to be here, so I'll say what I realize of things.

The Jedis are warriors of peace. They'll fight to defend freedom, but will try to solve everything peacefully, at first.

On the other hand, the movies are polarizing, since they almost always put the Jedi against Siths.

And about leaving, you take an oath when you are Knighted, and an oath when you become a Deacon, iirc, and, iirc, they are for life. But until you are knighted, you don't have this compromise. And even for those who are, I believe they can get to the Council and ask for leave.

• Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
8 years 4 months ago #214230 by
Thanks a lot for the answer. :) So - correct me if I got this wrong- it's basically pacifism as far as possible?

• Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
8 years 4 months ago #214235 by

Parveth wrote: Thanks a lot for the answer. :) So - correct me if I got this wrong- it's basically pacifism as far as possible?

I think you could say that. But obviously, I'm talking about the fictional Jedi.