I can't tell people I'm a Jedi. Can you help me?

• Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
    Public
4 years 11 months ago #337703 by
I tried to think of the least click-bait title I could, and that is the best I came up with. This is hard for me to talk about, so bear with me. Here is what I would have wrote if I wasn't concerned with length:

The only person I've told that I am studying Jediism is my wife, and that is only because she accepts me for all that I am, but also because she is open minded, and realizes that it goes beyond the fictional religion of the Jedi in Star Wars. That said, I work in a very machismo environment, in which all members are expected to be generally open-book, and this subject threatens to come up every day. In all honesty, I feel afraid to confess this belief system of mine, and its all because of the attachment it has to a world of fantasy, and people's viewpoint on that world.

So, I have a few questions....

1. How do you get around this fear? My instinct is to be non specific, maybe talking about the teachings rather than the name of our belief. But that feels like I'm running from my problem.
2. How do you get over this fear? Part of me wants to just not care at all, and just be out with it, but that almost seems like a shortcut, too. If I just dump it out, perhaps it will seem insincere.
3. Should I even try to explain myself?
4. Does anyone else have this anxiety? How do you deal with it, what is your experience?
5. How do you separate (if need be) Jediism in real life from that of the films? I've been around Star Wars all my life.

I genuinely believe in Jediism and its teachings, but I am fearful of the judgement of others. That said, I am committed to the Maxim of defense of the faith, and this is a first step in that direction for me. Thank you, all, for your consideration.

Please Log in to join the conversation.

More
4 years 11 months ago - 4 years 11 months ago #337708 by Adder